The cross above Good Shepherd Chapel

Gospel of Mark

2020 Lenten Devotions

#CUILent

Join the Concordia University Irvine community in reading through the Gospel of Mark this Lent.

Day

1

Wednesday, Feb 26

Ash Wednesday

Joel 2:12-19

Let’s Walk With Jesus

Joel 2:12-19

Read Devotion

Day

2

Thursday, Feb 27

Mark 1:1-13

Good News!

Mark 1:1-13

Read Devotion

Day

3

Friday, Feb 28

Mark 1:14-20

Fishin’

Mark 1:14-20

Read Devotion

Day

4

Saturday, Feb 29

Mark 1:21-39

Authority

Mark 1:21-39

Read Devotion

Day

5

Monday, Mar 2

Mark 1:40-45

Bold Beggars

Mark 1:40-45

Read Devotion

Day

6

Tuesday, Mar 3

Mark 2:1-12

Your Sins Are Forgiven

Mark 2:1-12

Read Devotion

Day

7

Wednesday, Mar 4

Mark 2:13-22

He Saves Sinners

Mark 2:13-22

Read Devotion

Day

8

Thursday, Mar 5

Mark 2:23-3:6

God’s Anger, God’s Compassion

Mark 2:23-3:6

Read Devotion

Day

9

Friday, Mar 6

Mark 3:7-19

Unusual Suspects

Mark 3:7-19

Read Devotion

Day

10

Saturday, Mar 7

Mark 3:20-35

Grace Big Enough For Any Sin

Mark 3:20-35

Read Devotion

Day

11

Monday, Mar 9

Mark 4:1-29

God’s Good Grace

Mark 4:1-29

Read Devotion

Day

12

Tuesday, Mar 10

Mark 4:30-41

His Deep Love

Mark 4:30-41

Read Devotion

Day

13

Wednesday, Mar 11

Mark 5:1-20

Your Remarkable Story

Mark 5:1-20

Read Devotion

Day

14

Thursday, Mar 12

Mark 5:21-43

Arise

Mark 5:21-43

Read Devotion

Day

15

Friday, Mar 13

Mark 6:1-6

Fully Jesus

Mark 6:1-6

Read Devotion

Day

16

Saturday, Mar 14

Mark 6:7-29

Facing Rejection

Mark 6:7-29

Read Devotion

Day

17

Monday, Mar 16

Mark 6:30-56

Jesus is Lord

Mark 6:30-56

Read Devotion

Day

18

Tuesday, Mar 17

Mark 7:1-37

Pretty Good

Mark 7:1-37

Read Devotion

Day

19

Wednesday, Mar 18

Mark 8:1-21

His Patience

Mark 8:1-21

Read Devotion

Day

20

Thursday, Mar 19

Mark 8:22-30

Lord, Open My Eyes

Mark 8:22-30

Read Devotion

Day

21

Friday, Mar 20

Mark 8:31-9:1

Take Up the Cross

Mark 8:31-9:1

Read Devotion

Day

22

Saturday, Mar 21

Mark 9:2-29

I Believe; Help My Unbelief

Mark 9:2-29

Read Devotion

Day

23

Monday, Mar 23

Mark 9:30-50

Calloused Consciences

Mark 9:30-50

Read Devotion

Day

24

Tuesday, Mar 24

Mark 10:1-12

To Love, Honor and Cherish

Mark 10:1-12

Read Devotion

Day

25

Wednesday, Mar 25

Mark 10:13-31

Helpless Dependence

Mark 10:13-31

Read Devotion

Day

26

Thursday, Mar 26

Mark 10:32-45

Submission

Mark 10:32-45

Read Devotion

Day

27

Friday, Mar 27

Mark 10:46-52

Asking For Help

Mark 10:46-52

Read Devotion

Day

28

Saturday, Mar 28

Mark 11:1-11

Hosanna

Mark 11:1-11

Read Devotion

Day

29

Day

30

Day

31

Day

32

Day

33

Day

34

Day

35

Day

36

Day

37

Day

38

Maundy Thursday

Day

39

Good Friday

Day

40

Holy Saturday

Day

41

Easter Sunday

The Gospel of Mark

On Ash Wednesday (this year falling on February 26th) the Lenten pilgrimage begins. In repentance and faith, we travel with Jesus to the cross, pondering the amazing gifts that he gives to us in his life, suffering, death, burial, and resurrection. We remember and reflect.

For generations, many Christians have chosen to “give something up” for Lent. Beginning with fasting, many people today choose to give up some particular thing, intending that this discipline helps them reflect on all that Christ did for them. If you choose to do this, God bless you in your Lenten walk.

But perhaps we might also take something up for Lent. Find a new area of service, expand a spiritual discipline, spend more time in Scripture and prayer. This, too, can focus our attention.

We invite you to join us this Lent in reading through the Gospel of Mark with us. Each weekday and Saturday will have a portion of Mark’s Gospel to read along with a devotional reflection. We hope this will be a blessing to you this Lent as, together, we return to the Lord our God and walk with Jesus.

A new devotion will be released every day, starting on Ash Wednesday and ending on Easter. (We will not have devotions on Sundays during Lent.)

I pray that you will use this devotional guide to help you reflect and to draw nearer to God during this season when so many distractions vie for our attention. I pray that through these devotions you may find new ways to understand how love can bear, believe, hope, and endure all things.

If you would like to receive email reminders as these daily reflections are posted, you can subscribe to our email list that is dedicated solely to these Lenten devotions.

In Christ,

Steve Mueller
Chief Mission Officer
Dean of Christ College

Quinton Anderson
Lead Pastor
Assistant VP Spiritual Life and Development

Walk With Us

Sign up to receive daily devotions from Ash Wednesday through Easter directly to your email.
Your email address will be used for no other purposes than these Lenten devotions.

Back to top