The cross in front of Founders Hall

Gospel of Matthew

2021 Lenten Devotions

#CUILent

Join the Concordia University Irvine community in reading through the Gospel of Matthew this Lent.

Day

1

Wednesday, Feb 17

Ash Wednesday

Matthew 1:1-17

A Family Tree

Matthew 1:1-17

Read Devotion

Day

2

Thursday, Feb 18

Matthew 1:18-25

God is Not Distant

Matthew 1:18-25

Read Devotion

Day

3

Friday, Feb 19

Matthew 2:1-23

The King Has Come

Matthew 2:1-23

Read Devotion

Day

4

Saturday, Feb 20

Matthew 3:1-17

I Am Pleased with You

Matthew 3:1-17

Read Devotion

Day

5

Sunday, Feb 21

Matthew 4:1-11

Satan and His Lies Have No Power

Matthew 4:1-11

Read Devotion

Day

6

Monday, Feb 22

Matthew 4:12-25

A Light Shines in the Darkness

Matthew 4:12-25

Read Devotion

Day

7

Tuesday, Feb 23

Matthew 5:1-20

You are Blessed

Matthew 5:1-20

Read Devotion

Day

8

Wednesday, Feb 24

Matthew 5:21-48

Righteous Expectation, Gracious Invitation

Matthew 5:21-48

Read Devotion

Day

9

Thursday, Feb 25

Matthew 6:1-15

Our Father

Matthew 6:1-15

Read Devotion

Day

10

Friday, Feb 26

Matthew 6:16-34

Which Master Do You Want?

Matthew 6:16-34

Read Devotion

Day

11

Saturday, Feb 27

Matthew 7:1-12

Reconciliation, Not Condemnation

Matthew 7:1-12

Read Devotion

Day

12

Sunday, Feb 28

Matthew 7:13-29

Spoken With Authority

Matthew 7:13-29

Read Devotion

Day

13

Monday, Mar 1

Matthew 8:1-34

He Carried Our Diseases

Matthew 8:1-34

Read Devotion

Day

14

Tuesday, Mar 2

Matthew 9:1-13

The Greatest Miracle

Matthew 9:1-13

Read Devotion

Day

15

Wednesday, Mar 3

Matthew 9:14-38

Made New

Matthew 9:14-38

Read Devotion

Day

16

Thursday, Mar 4

Matthew 10:1-11

The Furthest… Right Next Door

Matthew 10:1-11

Read Devotion

Day

17

Friday, Mar 5

Matthew 10:12-42

Hold Fast to Christ

Matthew 10:12-42

Read Devotion

Day

18

Saturday, Mar 6

Matthew 11:1-30

Look! He’s the One

Matthew 11:1-30

Read Devotion

Day

19

Day

20

Day

21

Day

22

Day

23

Day

24

Day

25

Day

26

Day

27

Day

28

Day

29

Day

30

Day

31

Day

32

Day

33

Day

34

Day

35

Day

36

Day

37

Day

38

Day

39

Day

40

Palm Sunday

Day

41

Day

42

Day

43

Day

44

Maundy Thursday

Day

45

Good Friday

Day

46

Holy Saturday

The Gospel of Matthew

The season of Lent begins with Ash Wednesday (February 17, 2021). During this season of penitential reflection, it is particularly appropriate that we ponder God’s Word as we consider all that our Lord Jesus does for us in his life, suffering, death, and burial.

Our current life of social distancing, masks, and isolation has been challenging in so many ways. It is an ever-present reminder that we live in a fallen world. Distance from others has reminded us of the importance of relationship and community. We are sustained by the faithful presence of God for us even as we walk challenging paths.

So that we might reflect and grow together, we invite you to join us this Lent in reading and reflecting on the Gospel of Matthew. Each day we will post a reading and devotional reflection. As you reflect, we pray that you draw nearer to God, and are sustained and strengthened in faith as we walk with Jesus. God’s blessings and peace be with you.

If you would like to receive email reminders as these daily reflections are posted, you can subscribe to our email list that is dedicated solely to these Lenten devotions.

In Christ,

Steve Mueller
Chief Mission Officer
Dean of Christ College

Quinton Anderson
Lead Pastor
Assistant VP Spiritual Life and Development

Walk With Us

Sign up to receive daily devotions from Ash Wednesday through Easter directly to your email.
Your email address will be used for no other purposes than these Lenten devotions.

Back to top